Skip to main content

New faces for CMA Board

9 Nov 2021

North Central Catchment Management Authority (CMA) Chair Julie Miller Markoff has thanked the organisation’s outgoing Board members, and welcomed new ones.

The Victorian Government has appointed two new members to the North Central CMA Board; Jan Boynton and Clinton Tilley, replacing Trish Kevin, Susan Jackson, and Efim Tkatchew, whose terms expired.

Sally Mitchell and Ms Miller Markoff were reappointed for another term.

Ms Miller Markoff praised the outgoing Board members for their contribution to the CMA and the region’s communities.

“Efim brought extensive corporate business judgement to the deliberations of the Board, and a focussed guidance and support for the pursuit of new natural resource management business development opportunities,” she said.

“Trish brought deep knowledge of applied NRM gained through her life as a practitioner. She was alert to the practice changes required for climate change adaptation, and forged strong relationships and communication with many community leaders through the Community Leaders Group and Landcare Chairs’ networks.

“Susan brought her attention to detail and judgement, and her lived expertise as a farmer in the west of the region. She was  a strong advocate for the value of water and the needs of communities in dryland areas.”

Ms Miller Markoff said the new Board is perfectly positioned to tackle the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead.

“Once again we have a Board that comes from diverse walks of life and has a great mix of experience,” she said.

“I think we are in a really good position to address the challenges in front of us, particularly climate change mitigation and adaptation.

“Climate change is a big challenge for us as an organisation and for our communities, but there are lots of opportunities that will come from our hard work, opportunities for agriculture, Traditional Owners, the environment, and our towns and cities.

“We need to work hard to be in a position to take advantage of these. And with this Board, I think we can.”

New board member profiles

Jan Boynton

Ms Boynton has had more than 25 years in executive positions in state and local government, including as Director Strategy and Planning with both the Shire of Campaspe and the City of Greater Bendigo, inaugural CEO of the North Central CMA, Regional Director of the Department of Natural Resources and Environment, North West Region and Regional Director of Regional Development Victoria.

Ms Boynton also has an extensive background in Board governance and is a currently a Director of Haven: Home, Safe; Bendigo Art Gallery, CVGT Australia, Bendigo Jockey Club and is Chair of Lifeline Central Victoria & Mallee.

Ms Boynton and her partner run a cattle stud in the Loddon catchment.


Clinton Tilley

Mr Tilley has been with The Hermal Group for more than 16 years, the last 10 as Chief Executive Officer.

Hermal is a private family-owned company with diverse business holdings including Quipsmart Modular Build, Sullivans Cove Distillery, Western Port Marina, Mortim Timber wholesalers, CLTP Panel Products (plantation based hardwood timber products), Bio-Energy International, to name a few. 

Mr Tilley has led Hermal Group’s development of zero emission architecturally designed modular buildings which are set to define new pathways in modern housing and utility building designs and construction. 

Mr Tilley has a strong background in finance and banking, and is a keen enthusiast of all things metal and wood. He enjoys the finer development of worked metal and timber products.